Beethoven: Wind Quintet in B flat major

Ludwig van Beethoven

Wind Quintet in B flat major
Op. 18 No. 6 (1800)
arranged by Ville Komppa 2019/2022

for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon

I Allegro buffo

Allegro giocoso (con brio)

II Romanze

Adagio ma non troppo

III Scherzo


IV La Malinconia

Adagio – Allegretto quasi Allegro

Listen to a sample on YouTube:

Beethoven’s String Quartets include some real gems that we wind players never get to fully enjoy. The idea for this arrangement – of using the wind quintet to bring out the already humoresque and expressive nuances of the Bb flat major quartet – was suggested to me by the violinist Linda Suolahti, and was originally written for woodwind quintet (fl, ob, cl, bcl, bsn) commissioned by the 2019 Kokonainen Festival. In this current version, edited in 2022, I replaced the bass clarinet with a french horn with some necessary changes to the parts and did some general polishing.

I hope you will have fun and some magical moments with this one – I really enjoyed playing it myself!

Ville Komppa (c) 2022

Published by Ville Komppa

Musician, theorist, teacher, writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: